## STATUTORY CO-OPTED MEMBERS

## 2011/2012

## **Education co-opted members**

Education co-opted members have a statutory right to be involved in the Council's decision making processes. However, under the legislation this only applies to an Overview and Scrutiny committee where their functions relate wholly or partly to educational matters which are the responsibility of the Authority's Cabinet.

The Regulations state that a Local Education Authority shall appoint at least two but not more than five Parent Governor representatives to Overview and Scrutiny and, on the assumption that the Council still maintains Roman Catholic schools, the total number of Church representatives to be appointed shall be one Church of England and one Roman Catholic.

Both Parent Governor and Church representatives have the right to vote on education matters and the right to Call-In Cabinet decisions as any other non-Cabinet Member.

The current Church representatives are:-

Church of England Reverend R Gayler

Roman Catholic Church Mrs G Spencer

The Parent Governor representatives are elected for a four year period - one representing primary schools, the other representing secondary schools. The current holders of these positions are:-

Primary Schools Mrs Ghadeer Al-salem Youssef (from 15/9/2010)

Secondary Schools Mr Ishmael Ncube (from 8/12/2010)

## **Independent Standards Committee Members**

Under The Standards Committee (England) Regulations 2008 authorities must ensure that at least 25% of the members of its Standards Committee are independent members. Independent members are elected for a four year period, and the current membership is as follows:

Mr B Beasley (11 October 2010 – 10 October 2014)

Mr F Dignan (1 January 2008 – 31 December 2011)

Mr K Madden – Chair since 11 October 2010 (14 May 2008 – 13 May 2012)

Mr D Sandiford (14 May 2008 – 13 May 2012)